Unfortunately, Krispy Kreme in the US has zero vegan donuts at the time of writing this article; however, all are vegetarian-friendly.
So what happens if you are a vegan? Can you still enjoy Krispy Kreme doughnuts without feeling guilty?
Nothing beats that feeling of biting into a glazed piece of heaven when you crave for your mid-day sugary pick-me-up— and I have some good news for you (so make sure you read through the end).
But first, let's check what lies beneath that heavenly glaze and are these legendary treats vegan.
Krispy Kreme's signature doughnut recipe contains animal by-products, including egg and dairy -- obviously not vegan friendly.
While they don't currently offer any plant-based options, according to the company:
"We are hopeful that we will be able to produce plant-based donuts that don't compromise our quality standards in the future." - Krispy Kreme 
On the other hand, Krispy Kreme doughnuts are lard- and butter-free. The company is committed to using only sustainable palm oil.
Although Krispy Kreme donuts don't use lard and are cooked in 100% vegetable oil, and all enzymes are vegetable-based.
Still, the donuts contain eggs and dairy, making them unsuitable for vegans.
Here's the detailed list of ingredients:
- Enriched wheat flour (contains niacin, reduced iron)
- Cottonseed or soybean oil
- Soy flour
- Egg yolks and whites
- Wheat gluten
- Milk powder
- Yeast nutrients (calcium sulfate, ammonium sulfate)
- Ascorbic acid
- Sodium bicarbonate
- Natural and artificial flavors
- Sodium caseinate
- Corn syrup solids
2021 UPDATE: Krispy Kreme Doughnuts are Now Vegan
The great news is coming from the UK.
Krispy Kreme UK has announced that they will be launching their first plant-based doughnut - Original Glazed Vegan Dozen.
According to the famous doughnut and coffee shop, the Original Glazed Vegan Dozen has the same texture and flavor as its iconic Original Glazed option, which was launched in 1937.
Krispy Kreme's donut shops in London will be the first to add the vegan donut version to their menu, which was introduced on the 21st of December, 2020.
"We are excited to extend our range of iconic irresistibly original doughnuts with the launch of our first-ever vegan offering, available exclusively in the UK," said Louise Direito Krispy Kreme UK and Ireland's head of innovation. 
The price of Krispy Kreme's vegan doughnuts is the same as the regular doughnuts, which will hopefully motivate people to try the plant-based version.
Does Krispy Kreme Have Eggless Donuts?
The bad news for vegans is that 45 varieties of donuts at Krispy Kreme (except Original Glazed Vegan Dozen) contain eggs.
Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegetarian?
Technically, Krispy Kreme donuts are vegetarian. Since the only animal by-products used in their doughnuts are eggs and dairy products, Krispy Kreme donuts are suitable for ovo-lacto vegetarians.
Krispy Kreme Vegan Donuts: My Final Thoughts
With competition in the food industry becoming fierce and more donut brands adding vegan items to their menus, Krispy Kreme UK couldn't have chosen a better timing to launch their first vegan treat.
Hopefully, this plant-based version will be available in the US market soon and let's hope for more additions to come in the near future around the globe.
To our readers from the UK, will you order the new vegan donut? Let us know in the comments below.