Isaac Robertson
Published by Isaac Robertson
Fact checked by Donald Christman, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: March 23, 2021

Nutter Butters are the original and most popular peanut butter biscuit. It’s a product that has put Nabisco on the map, and its salty but sweet flavor is a big hit.

But are Nutter Butters vegan-friendly? What goes into these peanut butter biscuit beauties?

Well, let’s take a closer look and find out.

Are Nutter Butters Vegan?

Vegan Nutter Butters

No, while the ingredients are all plant-based, many wouldn’t consider Nutter Butters to be vegan.

If you take a look at the ingredients list, a few problematic ingredients are marked in bold that put off most vegans.

If you don’t want to dive too deep into the debate and choose to ignore these warning signs, that is entirely your choice.

Another reason Nutter Butters won’t list themselves as a vegan is due to cross-contamination with milk in the factory where they are made.

Ingredients List

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid),
  • Sugar, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils, Salt, Peanut Oil), Canola Oil, Whole Grain Wheat Flour,
  • Palm Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Leavening (Baking Soda, Calcium Phosphate), Cornstarch, Soy Lecithin,
  • Artificial Flavor [1]

4 Problematic Ingredients

Before we look at some of the other Nutter Butter products, let’s first examine the ingredients we highlighted in bold. Why are these plant-based ingredients problematic for someone following the vegan lifestyle?

1. Sugar

The reason why many vegans will avoid sugar on an ingredient label isn’t just for health reasons.

Some sugar is bleached with bone char to get that pure white color, and while you’ll be glad to hear there isn’t any actual bone in the product, the processing still makes it non-vegan.

Ingredients labels don’t currently require that a company tells you whether the sugar in their product is the bone char using kind or not, which means the ingredient is a question mark.

While bone char whitening is becoming less and less prevalent, it’s still something to consider.

2. Palm Oil

Palm oil as nutter butters ingredient

Palm oil is another example of an ingredient that is plant-based but not vegan.

Depending on why you chose to go vegan, the environmental impact and the devastation caused by harvesting palm oil are impossible to justify.

It is directly to blame for a great deal of mass deforestation and biodiversity loss already, with estimates that demand and the habitat loss it causes will continue to grow in the future.

I am avoiding this ingredient wherever possible is the only way to send a message and reverse this trend.

3. Artificial Flavors

While artificial colors and flavors are made in a lab with no animal products needed, they are still not vegan. Synthetic dyes and flavors have to be routinely tested on animals.

Due to the possible harmful effects of these synthetic ingredients, they are always going through testing.

This means that animals are tortured and killed for every label you see them on. Not just rats and mice either, cats and dogs too.

4. Natural Flavor

Natural flavorings can be plant-based, but they are also sometimes sourced from animal products. Like sugar, there is no clear way to tell when you find them on an ingredients list, and it’s usually best to avoid them altogether.

Are Nutter Butter Bites Vegan?

No, Nutter Butter Bites are not vegan. While the ingredients are all plant-based, the cross-contamination with milk in the factory and problematic ingredients like palm oil and artificial flavors would have most vegans avoid the product.

Ingredients

Ingredients of Nutter Butter Bites
  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid),
  • Sugar, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils, Salt, Peanut Oil), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Canola Oil,
  • Palm Oil, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Salt, Leavening (Baking Soda And/Or Calcium Phosphate), Cornstarch, Soy Lecithin,
  • Artificial Flavor [2]

Are Fudge Covered Nutter Butters Vegan?

No, Fudge Covered Nutter Butters are not vegan. They contain nonfat milk and other problematic ingredients such as palm, sugar, and artificial flavors.

Ingredients

  • Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils, Salt, Peanut Oil),
  • Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali),
  • Nonfat Milk, Cocoa, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Cornstarch, Leavening (Baking Soda, Calcium Phosphate),
  • Artificial Flavor, Natural Flavor [3]

Are Nutter Butter Cream Patties Vegan?

Nutter Butter Cream Patties

No, Nutter Butter Cream Patties are not vegan. The ingredients list is entirely plant-based and more vegan-friendly than you might first think.

The product is made in a factory that also handles milk, and controversial ingredients like sugar and palm oil mean they’re not THAT vegan-friendly.

Ingredients

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils, Salt, Peanut Oil),
  • Sugar, Palm Oil, Dextrose, Cornstarch, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Baking Soda [4]

Is Nutter Butter Cereal Vegan?

Ingredients

  • Sugar, Corn Flour, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Dextrose, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Cottonseed, Soybean, Canola), Salt), Dextrose, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Canola Oil, Salt, Calcium Carbonate,
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6, BHT Added To Preserve Freshness.[5]

So, Are Nutter Butters Vegan?

Unfortunately, if you do your research and pay attention to the ingredients, Nutter Butters aren’t vegan.

It’s not all bad news, though, because it’s relatively simple to make your own homemade vegan nutter butter cookies.

By making your own, you can use whole food ingredients and avoid all the problematic processed foods found in the classic Nabisco biscuit. You can suit them to your own needs like making them sugar and gluten-free too.

Do you have your own Nutter Butter recipe to share? What’s your favorite replacement? Let us know in the comments below.


References:

  1. https://www.foodservice-snacks-desserts.com/productpage
  2. https://www.foodservice-snacks-desserts.com/productpage
  3. https://www.target.com/p/nutter-butter-fudge-dipped-peanut-butter-cookies-7-9oz/-/A-54163116
  4. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Nabisco-Nutter-Butter-Creme-Patties-10-5-Oz/10292718
  5. https://www.nutritionix.com/i/post/nutter-butter-cereal/5a4dd42b14a8f4ec510dd3f6

About the author