Jack In The Box is one of those pervasive fast-food restaurant chains in the States, and much like its competition, its vegan selection is rather limited.
Fear not, however - as a vegan, you won't starve here since we're bringing you a guide to vegan options at Jack In The Box.
Just keep in mind that fast food is still fast food, so don't expect to eat healthy here.
10 Vegan Options at Jack in the Box
When it comes to the plant-based menu, Jack in The Box offers the following options:
1. Teriyaki Bowl
It's a chicken dish, but it can be made vegan if you skip the meat and order extra veggies instead.
Teriyaki sauce itself is vegan-friendly, so you can dig in without stressing about the ingredients.
2. Vegetable Sandwich
It's nothing fancy or terribly creative, but it's a decent vegan breakfast or snack option. You can request any vegetables or toppings, including the ones in the teriyaki bowl.
3. English Muffin
Another plant-based option that would go well with a side salad or some vegan toppings is to request a butter-free version.
4. Seasoned Curly Fries
Curly cut fries seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, and spices. Unlike regular french fries, these are deep-fried to a crisp and sliced paper-thin.
5. French Fries
Unlike fries in some other fast food places, Jack in the Box's fries are a safe pick for vegans.
6. Potato Wedges
Usually served with bacon bits and cheddar cheese, so make sure to order them alone. Unlike fries, potato wedges are not deep-fried, which makes them a slightly healthier option.
7. Hash Browns
If you are a fan of potato snacks, you won't be lacking vegan options at Jack in The Box. Aside from being crispy and super-delicious and crispy, their hash browns are also vegan-friendly.
8. Spicy Corn Sticks
Along with regular and curly fries, potato wedges, and hash browns, here's another side dish that you can order without worrying about animal-derived ingredients.
9. Side Salad With Low-Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
This would be a perfect match with any of the menu items on the list. To make it vegan, order this side salad without croutons.
10. Condiments and Dipping Sauces
- Frank's RedHot Buffalo Dipping Sauce
- Sweet N' Sour Dipping Sauce
- Teriyaki Dipping Sauce
- Fire Roasted Salsa
- Hot Taco Sauce Packet
- Kikkoman Soy Sauce Packet
- Grape Jelly
- Strawberry Jam
- Pancake Syrup
Other sauces, for example, Barbecue Dipping Sauce and Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce, contain some animal ingredients, like eggs, milk, and honey.
Drinks & Sodas
- Barq's Root Beer
- Diet Coke
- Dr. Pepper
- Fanta Orange
- Fanta Strawberry
- Gold Peak Classic Blend Tea
- Jumpin' Jack's Splash (Regular and Diet)
- Powerade Mountain Blast
- Minute Maid 100% Apple Juice
- Mello Yello
- Minute Maid Orange Juice
- Minute Maid Lemonade
Are Their Tacos Vegan?
No, while the tortilla ingredients are plant-based, the filling contains meat, which makes them not vegan- or vegetarian-friendly.
Do They Offer Vegan Burgers?
Jack in the Box is another fast-food chain that is trying to please its plant-based customers. Their first meatless offer, the Unchicken Sandwich, is being tested at a limited number of locations:
"You're only going to find the sandwich in Reno, Nevada, and Monterey, California for the time being. The announcement doesn't say what the company's plan is for expanding availability"
- Dustin Nelson, thrillist.com
Is Jack in The Box Suitable for Vegans?
Although Jack in The Box vegan options is not abundant, they should be enough to get you through your lunch break and, hopefully, they'll be adding more meat-free menu items in the future.
What kind of plant-based stuff would you like to see offered at your local Jack in the Box? Let us know in the comments.